Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 (WGT)

Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black
From Friday - Victorian Picnic

This Wave-Gotik-Treffen was very special for me, since I am/was already 37 week pregnant. I knew early on that I still wanted to go to the WGT, but I also knew that a lot of things would be different.

 

First off all I didn´t sleep in a tent this year, but at a friends house. Which was a lot more comfortable – we had a bed, a warm shower and it wasn´t too loud or too cold. But it also meant that we needed to drive every day 40 minutes to the Agra and 40 minutes back. And we couldn´t spend as much time with our friends at the camp ground. In general I prefer camping, but that wasn´t possible this year and won´t be possible again until the little one is a bit older. But we might get a caravan next year, so that we are still in the camping area even so not directly with “our” camp.


Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black
The camp ground

My boyfriend and I arrived on Thursday evening in Leipzig. First we got rid of our stuff at our friend’s house, and then we went to get our wristbands. We had camping wristbands, because we wanted to be able to spend at least the days with our friends at the camping ground. But that also meant we couldn´t go directly to the Belantis, but had to go to the Agra first.

 

 

 

 

Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black

By the time we were there it was already 22 pm. After we got some food we wanted to go to the Belantis – the Adventure Park were the opening event was happening. I can´t ride roller coaster at the moment anyways, so I didn´t mind going late - just for the parties. But the problem was that by that time the Belantis was full already and that no shuttle busses were driving anymore. And there was absolutely no alternative party/location to go to since the traditional Pre-Party in the Agra 4.2 wasn´t happening.

 

 

To be honest, I was pretty tired already and didn´t mind just sitting at the camp ground for a while with my friends, before going home. But I think that it really sucked for most people (whoaren´t at the end of pregnancy) who came to celebrate through the entire festival days. I have never heard of a huge adventure park being full, so that was pretty badly organized from the festival team.

Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black
Victorian Picnic

On Friday I got into my steampunk outfit, and then we did some grocery shopping and left for the Victorian Picnic in the Clara-Zetkin-Park. It was a nice and sunny day; we had some good food and were watching the people in their awesome outfits.

Originally I wanted to go to the Nontox afterwards to see Centhron. But I was pretty exhausted after the picnic, so we drove to the camp ground and went for a bit to the Heidnisches Dorf in the evening.

 

Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black
Das Klub Meeting

On Saturday my first program point was going to the das Klub meeting, which we had for the first time at the WGT. It was a pretty small meeting, especially because half of the people didn´t make it in time to the meeting. But it was nice to have a chat and see the people again, especially because I couldn´t really go to the industrial events – either it was too cold (for the Nontox) or too loud (in the Agra Concert hall).

 

 

 

Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black
In the tram

After the das Klub meeting and lunch I and a friend of mine went to the Nontox. That was actually the only evening in which I could really listen to bands and even dance a bit. It had gotten already pretty cold and the Nontox is an outside location with no  warm place, but I was lucky that my friend had his car with him, so that we could sit between the bands inside on the seat heater. On this evening I saw Unterschicht, Painbasdards and XRX.

 

In total the Nontox was still the best location for me this WGT - because the music wasn´t to loud and they had at least a very big tent so that we didnt get wet.

Only that I had to wait over an hour for one cup of coffe (!)  - the only hot drink they serve there - was a bit of a downside.

Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black
Entry of the Agra Café/Shopping Area

On Sunday the weather had gotten even crappier, it was cold and rainy the entire day. Originally I wanted to go to see my friends from Desastroes playing at the Nontox at 13:30 pm. But I had to decided against it, because I can´t afford to get a cold at the moment (I don´t want to go into labor not being able to breath properly).

 

So I pretty much spend the day with walking around inside the shopping area with my friends, looking at the people there, drinking some hot drinks and buying a huge warm hoodie  - after I searched through the entire shopping area until I found the one I wanted in plain black with some rivets.

 

Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black
Finally found a warm hoodie that fits over my belly

 I didn´t really bring warm clothes with me (which was a mistake), because the WGT has always been nice, sunny and a bit too hot, so I just could accept the fact that this year it would be cold. Plus the problem is that I don´t really have a lot of clothes that fit over my belly anymore – so I wanted to go belly free and not buying things just for one more month.

 

In the evening I wanted to go to Diary of Dream and Lacrimosa. I spend properly one minute in the Agra Concert Hall. It was way too loud. And I really have no clue why it must be so loud. The entire backwall off the hall was vibrating (!). That can´t be comfortable even for somebody who isn´t pregnant.

Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - WGT - Ciwana Black
Heidnisches Dorf

Monday was already the last day of the WGT. The weather started out crappy again, but it got better over the day. I used this day pretty much just with walking around in the Heidnisches Dorf together with my boyfriend, trying out all the awesome (vegan) food that they had there and later on sitting at the camp fire listening to Versengold and Heydenrausch.

 

 

In the evening I wanted to go to Aesthetic Perfection and Agonoize. But they were playing in the Agra Concert hall again. So I kinda knew that that wouldn´t work out. I tried it anyways but after 10 seconds of the concert I left again, because it was way too loud again and my baby started kicking me.

 

 

 

So that was my Wave-Gotik-Treffen: no being able to get in, too loud (for me), too cold. But for some reason I had a lot of fun anyways. I met so many of my friends and nice random people. I had tasty food and it was just really nice to go out one last time before the little one will be here.

 

 

I am really looking forward to next year, I only hope that the weather will be better again.:)

 

Comments: 0 (Discussion closed)
    There are no comments yet.

Kontakt:

Ciwana Black

ciwana.black@gmail.com

If I took a photo of you/filmed you and you are unhappy with it, please send me an E-Mail and I will remove/blur out those parts :)


(C) Ciwana Black 2021