M'era Luna 2016

M'era Luna - Ciwana
On the way in the train

This year was my first time at the M'era Luna festival. It was also my first time going out after I had  my little baby. I knew that I could spend only a couple of hours at the festival because I can´t leave her for too long (she is just 2 month old). But the Mera Luna is very close to where I live, so I could easily drive back and forward by train in about 30 minutes.

 

One good thing about goth festivals is that it is very easy to spot the people who are going to it. So when I arrived in Hildesheim main station I found some nice new people with whom I shared a taxi to the festival ground.

 

 

When we arrived at the Flugplatz I was straight away impressed by the massive camping ground. Most other goth festivals I have been to don´t have so many people camping. It kinda felt more like arriving to a metal festival. There were even people playing toilet bingo (give the portable toilets a number and guess which one the next visitor will take). And somebody with a free hug sign. And very cool decorated tents – even an inflatable palm tree and such :)

 

 

 

 

M'era Luna festival area - Ciwana Black
M'era Luna festival area

On Saturday I arrived around 13:00 pm at the festival. I went pretty much straight to the hangar stage, because I wanted to see Noisuf-X playing. And it was really good. It felt amazing to dance again and meet all the dancers as well. Afterwards I was just wandering around; having a look at the festival area, and filming a bit. I didn´t actively see a band on the main stage. But it was a very nice feeling to always have some good music in the back ground and people sitting everywhere, enjoying the sun and the bands playing. Then I went to the camping ground to visit my friends with whom I unusually camp at the Wave-Gotik-Treffen.  After spending some time there, it was already time to go back home. Those five hours of festival feeling and being away from the little one were really like soul food – but I also couldn´t wait to come home to her afterwards.

M'era Luna Hangar Stage - Ciwana Black
Hangar stange - Centron

 

 

Sunday started of pretty much the same. I got into my outfit at home and went to the festival area where I arrived again at 13:00pm. This time I found again some nice random people who shared a taxi with my. Then I went straight away to see Centhron. I think I enjoyed them even more the Noisuf-X. But that’s maybe also because I knew that yesterday everything went  well with the little one even so I wasn´t there – so I could dive even more into the festival feeling.

 

 

M'era Luna - Sunday - Ciwana Black
With Jan from Desastroes

After Centhron I went around the festival area again. But it was more like walking 10 meters - meeting somebody and talking 10 minutes, walking 20m - pictures taken by a photographer, walking 10m - pictures taken, walking 20m  - meeting a friend. And I really enjoyed this. It was so awesome to be outside, talking to nice people and having pictures taken – without the baby belly. After a short trip to my friends at the camping ground it was already time to go home again. Even so it was just few hours for me, I really got a festival blues when I needed to go. I wished I could have seen more bands like Hocico, VNV Nations or Eisbrecher. On the other hand I know that I was really lucky to be able to go to a festival with a 2 month old baby.

M'era Luna festival area - Ciwana Black
M'era Luna festival area

So that was my first M'era Luna. It felt a bit like a fusion of a Goth with a Metal festival – you had people sitting around drinking something, enjoy the music, just having fun and also the people in the amazing outfits which I love to look at. And I really enjoyed this athmosphere. I will definitely be back next year – then for a longer time and more bands. And maybe in two years time I can finally camp again. Because personally I think that you can enjoy the Mera Luna festival to the fullest, when you are in the middle of where everything is happening.

Comments: 0 (Discussion closed)
    There are no comments yet.

Kontakt:

Ciwana Black

ciwana.black@gmail.com

If I took a photo of you/filmed you and you are unhappy with it, please send me an E-Mail and I will remove/blur out those parts :)


(C) Ciwana Black 2021